Rutgers New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station | [Cooperative Extension of Atlantic County]

What is 4-H?  Snapshot

4-H Mission

The New Jersey 4-H Youth Development Program uses a learn-by-doing approach to enable youth to develop the knowledge, attitudes, and skills they need to become competent, caring and contributing citizens of the world. This is accomplished by using the knowledge and resources of caring adults.

4-H Goals

1.  Provide informal, educational programs for youth in grades K–13

2. Encourage responsibility, community awareness & character development in youth

3. Strengthen skills for adults working with youth through training and publications

4. Improve community partnerships and collaborations

4-H Motto

To Make the Best Better!


4-H Slogan

Learn by Doing


4-H Membership

4-H Youth Development programs are for all youth, grades Kindergarten – 13 (first year out of high school) in urban, suburban, and rural communities.

Youth in grades K – 3 are Cloverbud members. 4-H Cloverbud memebers are different from standard members because they do not select specific projects and are non-competitive

Youth, grades 4 -13, are standard members and can enroll in one or many different 4-H projects.

Junior members are grades 4 -7 and Senior members are grades 8 – 13.

4-H Pledge

4-H Pledges

4-H is a community of young people across America who are learning leadership, citizenship, and life skills. The Atlantic County 4-H Youth Development Program offers everyone in grades K-13 (first year out of high school) the opportunity to explore countless opportunities in science, arts, foods, outdoor adventure, and more with the ultimate goal of giving youth the skills they need to thrive and succeed throughout their lives.

4-H’s unique, learn-by-doing model teaches youth essential, transferrable skills that they'll use throughout their lives, such as problem solving, decision making, coping, communicating and responding to the needs of others.

4-H provides meaningful opportunities for youth and adults to work together to create sustainable community change. This is accomplished within three primary content areas, or mission mandates, - citizenship, healthy living, and science. These three mission mandates – citizenship, healthy living, and science – all intertwine, can be integrated across project areas and activities, and is the educational foundation of 4-H.

Home | Calendar | Contact Us | Personnel | Publications
Last Modified: Friday, January 8, 2016 , All rights reserved.
Cooperating Agencies: Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, U.S. Department of Agriculture, and County Boards of Chosen Freeholders. Rutgers Cooperative Extension, a unit of the Rutgers New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station, is an equal opportunity program provider and employer.